Faces Of The Day

by Chris Bodenner


Members of the gay community attend the Uruguay Senate’s discussion of a marriage equality bill in Montevideo on April 2, 2013. By Miguel Rojo/AFP/Getty Images. The day ended with good news:

The Uruguay Senate passed marriage equality legislation Tuesday, a sure sign that it will become the fourth nation in Latin America to establish marriage equality in some sense, as President José Mujica has said he intends to sign the bill into law. … According to Freedom to Marry, Uruguay will join 11 other countries with marriage equality (The Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, and Denmark), in addition to three others (Brazil, Mexico, and the United States) where marriage is legal or recognized in designated regions.